

Board of Aldermen Request for Action

MEETING DATE: 12/20/2022 DEPARTMENT: Administration

AGENDA ITEM: Appointment of the TIF Commission

REQUESTED BOARD ACTION:

Appointment of the TIF Commission in anticipation of future TIF incentive requests.

SUMMARY:

For each TIF proposal that is submitted, a TIF Commission must be formed for the purposes of holding a public hearing for the TIF Plan. Notice of the public hearing will be published a minimum of two times in the local paper. During the public hearing, members of the TIF Commission will be able to ask questions of the developers while reviewing the proposed TIF plan for recommend approval or denial to the Board of Aldermen.

Previously, the City created a TIF commission which consisted of eleven total members, with six nominated by the Mayor to be representatives of the City, two nominated from the school district, two nominated from Clay County, and one nominated from all of the remaining taxing jurisdictions (zoo district, library district, fire district, ambulance district).

The Mayor and Board of Aldermen approved the following individuals to the TIF Commission on June 21, 2021:

Steve Sarver Former Alderman, former Smithville Planning Commission

Melissa Wilson Member of Planning Commission, former Alderman

Alicia Neth Economic Development Committee Chair, Smithville Main Street

President

Deb Dotson Member of Planning Commission

Adam Royds Economic Development Committee Member

Karic Brown Economic Development Committee Member, local realtor

Since August 28, 2008, cities within a county with a charter form of government and with more than two hundred fifty thousand inhabitants have been subject to a special process for selecting TIF Commissioners. With the Clay County Constitution becoming effective on January 1, 2021, and the most recent 2020 Census data putting the population of the County at 253,335 inhabitants, cities within Clay County are subject to this provision as of July 1, 2021.

Cities within Clay County are now required to create a TIF Commission consisting of twelve persons to be appointed as the following: three are nominated by the Mayor to be representatives of the City, two are nominated from the school district, six are nominated from the County, and one is nominated from all of the remaining taxing jurisdictions (zoo district, library district, fire district, ambulance district).

The Mayor nominates the following individuals to the TIF Commission:

Steve Sarver Former Alderman, former Smithville Planning Commission

Adam Royds Member of Economic Development Commission

Kelly Kobylski Member of Economic Development Commission, former Alderman

PREVIOUS ACTION:

June 21, 2022 – TIF Commission Appointments

POLICY OBJECTIVE:

Click or tap here to enter text.

FINANCIAL CONSIDERATIONS:

Click or tap here to enter text.

ATTA	CHM	ENTS:
-------------	-----	-------

VILITIO:	
□ Ordinance	□ Contract
□ Resolution	☐ Plans
☐ Staff Report	☐ Minutes
☐ Other:	